Doctor Who: The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment


The third, fourth and fifth stories of the twentieth season were conceived by John Nathan-Turner and Eric Saward as a trilogy reintroducing the Black Guardian in the BBC sci-fi drama.

Mawdryn Undead

The Black Guardian recruits a young man named Turlough to assassinate the Doctor. Although outwardly an ordinary pupil at a boys’ private boarding school, Turlough is in fact an alien who believes that the Guardian will return him home if he succeeds.


The TARDIS attaches itself to a space liner after Turlough, still under the Black Guardian’s influence, damages its controls. The Doctor and Nyssa meet two space pirates, Kari and Olvir, who have come on board the liner in search of plunder, while Tegan and Turlough get lost in the infrastructure.


The White Guardian warns of impending danger and directs the TARDIS to what appears to be an Edwardian sailing yacht, the SS Shadow, but is actually one of a number of spaceships taking part in a race through the solar system, the prize being Enlightenment.


◆ Commentary with cast and crew
◆ Who Wants to Live Forever? – cast and crew look back at the making of the story.
◆ Deleted and Extended Scenes
◆ Out-takes
◆ CGI Effects
◆ Photo Gallery
◆ Isolated Score – option to watch the story with the isolated music score.
◆ Coming Soon trail for a forthcoming DVD release.
◆ Easter Eggs
◆ Programme Subtitles

Signed by Janet Fielding.

  • *Please select DVD cover to sign